Finding Purpose

Do you know what you want to do with your life?

You know that thing that you know will make you all happy and content on the inside ? That thing that gives your life some semblance of purpose. Do you know what that is? If so, I’d love to know what it is. Please add it to the comments section below.

One question that frequently sticks out in the back of my mind is what is it that I want to do in my life. It seems like such a daunting effort to find an honest and truthful answer to that question. Ever since becoming acutely aware of the existence of that question I have made it a point to ask people about it whenever I get a chance. It is probably not a surprise that most people are in the same boat as I am. They have not a clue. Even people who are much older than me and whose lives are in the so called auto-pilot mode, tend to falter when asked this seemingly unassuming question.

So I have decided to make one up myself. Clearly this is not something that can be logically derived. Too much is at stake to just let our mind’s reason hash it out inside our brains. What we need to do is just that – do.

Do stuff. Make things. Create objects. Don’t be busy; Make impact.

Or rather, be busy making impact.

Does not have to be fancy; does not need an audience. Just create something that was not there before you created it.

But then again, this does not complete the puzzle. If you just start doing things, then when do we find out if we are doing what we really want to do for the rest of our lives ? That I have no idea. May be once you start doing things, whatever it is that you are truly passionate about will come to you; but that’s just my guess.

The one thing I’m sure of is this – ‘Do’ing is fucking hard. But its also worthwhile.

Of course I could be totally wrong here. But then again, who cares.

[Post: 132 of 365] [Days Missed: 50]
I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or show me how to pick some good sunglasses.

2 thoughts on “Finding Purpose

  1. Man if you could answer this question is a satisfactory way, I will give you my current bank account balance to do whatever you want to do to make the impact.

    That will give me a chance to see how it feels.

  2. How about this – You give me your money upfront, and I’ll use to find a satisfactory answer. That way, I get something to do meaningful, and you get to invest in an opportunity of a life time.
    Sound good ?

Comments are closed.