The Prayer

O Great Spirit

whose voice I hear in the winds, and
whose breath give the life to all the world, hear me !

I am small and weak.

I need your strength and wisdom.

Let me walk in beauty, and make my eyes ever behold the red and purple sunset.

Make my hands respect the things you have made and my ears sharp to hear your voice.

Make me wise so that I may understand the things you have taught my people.

Let me learn the lessons you have hidden in every leaf and rock.

I seek strength, not to be greater than my brother, but to fight my greatest enemy – myself.

Make me always ready to come to you with clean hands and straight eyes.

So when life fades, as the fading sunset, my spirit may come to without shame.

— a prayer song from the Lakota Indian tribes who lived in the plains of North and South Dakota.

Found this one at the souvenir shop inside the Crazy Horse Memorial in South Dakota. Since the memorial does not accept any form of federal funding, the entire budget for the memorial and the Crazy Horse monument comes from charities and donations from visitors and the public. I am not a fan of prayer stuff, but this one seems peculiar in that it is very simple and bare. There are no Gods to revere and there are no sins to repent. All good and evil are within and around us. It comes from the firm belief that nature is where we all came from and, in the end, that is where we are all headed. We get everything we need from it and anything we take will be eventually returned. Most of us know these things of course, at least in the abstract.

This prayer song just makes it an utterly clear realization.

[Post: 327]

