CenturyLink Sucks

The internet is so terrible at my apartment now that I feel like I am back to using dialup connection. That horrible, horrible dial up connection. Way back in 2002 when the fabled ‘internet’ first arrived at my house. It was the time when I thought Opera browser was the greatest thing ever invented, floppy drives were hip items and a day without playing road rash was a day spent without purpose. Once or twice every week I will sit down and spend some regrettable hours listening to that distinctly unique tone of the dial up modem. The idea of internet was new and exciting. The fact that I could download a song in 45 minutes was incredible. Incredible in the fact that the dial up modem had managed to keep its connection for 45 straight minutes. Usually I had to restart or reconnect the modem every 30 minutes or so. Sometimes I think my tendency to multi-task and not focus on one thing at a time came from using that dial up. You see, every page took a few minutes to load and what can you do during that gap other than load more pages? Shifting between tabs that were loading painfully slow was how I learned a lot of keyboard shortcuts, since scrolling the mouse got pretty boring.

Sadly, I am reliving that excruciatingly slow internet connection, here in the U.S of A – easily one of the top 5 technologically advanced nations on the world, if you exclude some Asian countries of course. I can’t find words to describe how painful something as simple as typing a document in google doc can be when dealing with slow connectivity. The page freezes so often and any attempt to refresh only makes it worse. By the time page reloads, I can’t even remember what I was typing, not to mention the fact that the last couple of sentences always disappear since the the connection was lost before google can save the doc. Its aweful; Aweful I tell you.

Ar least gave me something to write about.

[Post: 158 of 365] [Days Missed: 56]
I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or suggest me some good software architecture books.

One thought on “CenturyLink Sucks

  1. Hi there. My name is Joey and I’m with CenturyLink. We’re very sorry to read about the trouble you’re having with your DSL. Our team would be more than happy to look into things and do all we can to help. All we ask is that you email us at TalkToUs@CenturyLink.com with your information and any helpful details on the issue. Once received someone will look into it and respond to you as soon as possible. We look forward to hearing from you. Thanks.

    Joey H
    Manager, @CenturyLinkHelp Team

Comments are closed.