What Is In A Personality Anyway?

Yesterday’s post about personality types caused quite a bit of reactions from y’all. This was the first time I had ever heard of the Myers Briggs test, but apparently it was not as obscure as I thought. I doubt the accuracy of the test much more now, though, since it gave me slightly varying results for each of the three attempts I made. May be one has to take the average of the results.

Funny thing was that after reading the description for my supposed personality type, I could not stop thinking about it. I kept going on and on about it in my head analyzing how much of it was just generic stuff that can be applied to anyone. Truth be told, more than half of the stuff mentioned in there were things I kind of knew about myself. Over the course of my life so far, I have made some clear observations about the behavioral patterns that I tend to follow, and the personality type description was strikingly accurate in more than a few cases.

It also made me a bit too conscious about the way I think. There were some stuff in the description that said why I (as in my personality type) think in a certain way, and started playing on my decisions. Every time I made a decision, I asked, am I making this decision because the personality test told me I would think this way? And more importantly, should I streamline myself to think that way so that I my thought process is consistent with my personality type?

See, this is why one should stay clear of pseudo-scientific tests that produce three different results when you take it three different times. They mess with your head in a bad way and then you are left alone trying to sort it out. In the end it just turns out to be a complete waste of time.

Speaking of time wasted, just watched the movie, Duplicity. If you have too much time to spare, waste them in wiser pursuits like watching NFL, or CSPAN or that show where they make people eat pig testicles.

[Post: 93 of 365] [Days Missed: 35]
I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or make the week go faster.

