Blogging From Offsite: Maui, Hawaii

Just spent my very first day in Hawaii!. And already, I have experienced one of the best sunsets I have ever seen.

I am in the island Maui, which is about 45 minutes from Honolulu where our aircraft from Phoenix landed after an excruciating 6 hours of flight. By the time we reached Maui, it was about 5 pm and as soon as we checked into our hotel – which is just a few feet from the Pacific Ocean – we decided to take a dip at the beach.

The sun was covered by clouds and the wind was mild. It was nice cool day and for the first time in a very long time I got into my swim trunks and ran straight into the cold waves of the pacific ocean. The water was chilly at first, but I warmed up to it within minutes. I was joined by my buddies, M, B, S and the other S (lets call him S2) and we were having a great time.

I was taking some mini swim lessons from M and S to prepare myself for the daunting task of snorkeling that we have planned to undertake in the upcoming days. I would not say I am a terrible swimmer. But I would say that swimming and I are not best friends. We are not even casual friends. If swimming was the north pole, then I am the center of south pole. I don’t know swimming is what I am trying to say here.

After about 4 attempts I got the knack of it and got a bit comfortable with relaxing in the water and just floating with my belly down. It was good fun. The waves were not particularly harsh, but the size and speed of them were inconsistent enough to keep us on our under water toes. Once every few minutes a giant wave would crash on us, pushing the severely salted water into our nostrils, mouth and ear. From what I noticed today, the ear does not complain about the saltiness of the water at all. Nose and mouth on the other hand held violent protests.

Then the sun came out of the clouds and was getting ready to set. The golden red ball was touching the edge of the horizon at this point and the entire ocean appeared to glisten like a celestial soup. Waves, raising and crashing, created mesmerizing shades of vibrant yellow and blue. For me, it was a sunset like never before and after witnessing it I knew this is going to be a great trip.

Went out for seafood dinner and just came back, with full stomach. One thing for sure – stuff in Hawaii is expensive. A carton of milk is 6$, cereals 7$ and regular bottle of sunscreen lotion is 6$.

We need to wake up early tomorrow for hiking Haleakala national park. Got to get some sleep.

I’ll keep y’all posted, possibly with pictures 🙂

Aloha.
[Post: 84 of 365] [Days Missed: 30]
I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or tell me why there are no cops here in Hawaii

