Operation Goatee: Test # 01

Do you have a beard? If so, do you like it? If you don’t have a beard, would you like to have one? I am having a hard time deciding if I should have a beard.

After wanting to do it for a very long time I decided to finally make the plunge and have a goatee or some sort of a trimmed beard. I have never been a big fan of facial hair since it involves the hassle of frequent upkeep and a possibility of constant itching. But ever since I saw Thalaivar (a.ka Rajinikanth) sporting an awesome lightning-bolt like goatee in last year’s Endhiran I was thinking about getting one of those for myself. But every time I pickup the shaver and look in the mirror, somehow my brain convinces me not to do it. The conversation between me and myself goes like this:

“What are you doing?”

“I want to have a goatee”

‘Seriously?! why do you need a goatee?’

“It would look good on me.”

“No, It won’t. Besides what about the frequent upkeep and the possible itches?”

“I can do it. I can keep up. Its not big deal.”

“No Big Deal?? Dude, you can’t even keep your hair in order everyday. And don’t even get me started on the side burns. Fucking Side Burns!!”

“Ok, Ok. Chill man. I won’t have a goatee.”

“Good, Now go get me a Beer. And some chips”

“But, there is no Beer in our house. Also, you are just an inner voice with no physical presence…”

and so on it goes and after a lengthy self-debate, I end up mowing down every single hair follicle lower to my Nose Bridge.

But today I was determined. After drinking a tall order of Mocha, I was pumped up in caffeine and I went to the bathroom, stood in front of the mirror, looked dead straight at those eyes and said

‘Fuck you mirror me. Today, I am getting a Goatee”

Then I remembered I still had not decided on which style of Goatee I wanted. The Endhiran style was a bit complex and I was not skilled with a sharp razor to pull it off, yet. Most people wont recognize it here anyway. After some online research I found a few options for fashionable beards and settled on a fairly straight forward one. Its kind of similar to the Mottai Rajini’s beard in Sivaji but its a bit thicker and its more like a french beard in the chin area. It would be much easier if I just showed you rather than me describing it.

Well, here it is (Click to enlarge, if you really prefer)

After finishing it, I felt like I had accomplished something, you know. There is some great pleasure in disobeying your inner voice. It is quite good. Give it a try sometime.

What do you think of the beard? Does it look good or does it look awesome? Now, before you start typing, bare in mind that I have a fragile heart. So be kind 🙂

[Post: 52 of 365] [Days Missed: 8]

I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or give me useful grooming tips.


2 thoughts on “Operation Goatee: Test # 01

  1. The beard is fine, from the side it looks awesome…

    But in the second picture imagine you are wearing a auto driver khaki dress which is little buttoned down and you are playing mankatha… people will not be able to tell the difference.

    The best thing you did was putting the photos – thanks.

Comments are closed.