The Art Of F@%king Up People’s Names

Do you like your name? Do you get pissed off when someone says your name the wrong way? I am used to the fact that Americans can’t say my name, any name that is more than three syllables for that matter, the exception being names of exotic food items, but the thing that annoys me the most is when people from Indian subcontinent screw up my name, which is not tricky at all by Indian standards. I will admit that some names are harder to say, like Ngugi wa Thiong’o (its a real name – google it) or some of the non-English speaking European names. But the names of Indian subcontinent are very straight forward.

He made the phrase "Thank you, come again!" catchy.

I’ll accept that they are sometimes very long, but never tough on the tongue. We don’t have apostrophes, or asterisks in our names and neither do we have silent letters but still people somehow manage to fuck them up, often without even making an effort. I am reminded of the notable comment from Apu in Simpsons – “Everybody has such difficulty saying my name. It sounds exactly as it is spelled”.

Of course his full name is Apu Nahasapeemapetilon. What are the chances he is from Andhra Pradesh? 🙂

After much waiting, I finally received the DVD for The Fighter from Netflix today. That movie is a brilliant mix of everything I like in a feature film – has great story, includes boxing fights, has Christian Bale AND Mark Wahlberg and on top of that, its a true story. Christian Bale is a prolific actor and any movie that features him is worth a watch just for that. Unfortunately, I don’t think I will be able to watch the movie today since I woke up at 5 today to go to Gym and as a result I am already feeling sleepy. The “Surya” trick that I mentioned in my previous blog seems to be working amazingly so far, but I almost see the day when that picture is going to lose its magical power. I am currently in search of an even more inspiring picture for the morning workout.  I am almost sorry that it took me so long to figure out such a simple way of motivating oneself. Apparently many people I know have been using this technique for years. For instance, a colleague of mine uses Thalaivar’s “Oruvan Oruvan” song from the movie Muthu everyday morning before starting his work and he says it never fails to inspire him. But then, how can one hear that song and not get pumped up.

What about you? Do you use any picture, music or any artifact that pushes you forward when you are experiencing moments of lethargy? Share your secret and make the world a better place.

Post: 28 of 365

I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or a bowl Honey Nut-Cheerios.

