An Intriguing Title

Something interesting that I have been noticing during our short but wildly successful run so far, is that the more enticing the title is, the more views a post generates. I know its a pretty basic understanding that titles have the highest visibility of all texts in a blog, but its a bit astonishing to see its effect so clear and so precise. I know that some of the posts are not the usual Pulitzer prize eligible stuff I mostly produce, but strangely even those posts generate significantly high viewership. I am often left wondering, who reads these crap anyway? But then I remember its you people. Are you not smart? of course, you are. You are reading my post. Like I said, interesting.

I want to make it very clear, for the record.  I cherish every single reader who visits my posts. You are like the oxygen for my blog. Without you there is no possibility of existence for this great literary endeavor. I have 349 posts left, and I can use every bit of encouragement. Also, I am very fickle hearted. Every day I look at the number of people who visited the blog and if its less than the average number of readers per day, then I start randomly cursing people I meet. Especially, given my aversion towards helpless people, like grandmas and little childern, I switch to a higher level of profanity when I am around them. So, if not for me, come read my posts if only to protect those innocent beings. Next time you are about to make the decision to whether or not read my blog, think about the children. Because they are the future and I can be truly terrible to them If you force me. The choice is yours.

You may have noticed that the title is, to say the least, abstract. And obvious. May be not obvious, but definitely abstract. I have been reading quite a bit about minimalism and abstract theory. And I can see that its having an effect in my thinking and design choices these days. If you have not noticed already, the title of the Blog “A Super Creative Blog” and the layout of the blog itself also follow the similar design principles adopted in minimalism. I am very much an amateur in these theories, but you can find similar design paradigms chosen by many industry giants like Apple in all of their products and Google in many of their releases – Think Google Classic Home Page. A company that very visibly shunned this approach to a design that focuses on more flashier, feature rich and, relatively speaking, complex systems is Microsoft. And most of its windows-based partners as well. I find the minimalistic design approach better since, I think, it produces  much better overall user experiences and, as Mr. Steve Jobs likes to say, it makes the products seem magical.

Do you like such designs that place higher priority for user experience over complexity or do you prefer a system that packs in enough sophistication that you have to employ your engineering class knowledge to use it. This is not a question of Apple vs Microsoft, or OSX vs Windows. This much more fundamental than that. Should a product hide its complexity such that the user finds it intuitive and thus making it more functional, or should a product, that does very sophisticated functions, also expect a certain degree of sophistication from its users?

Pour your opinions in to the comments bucket in word format. Form sentences if you prefer.

16 down. 349 more to go. See you tomorrow.

(I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or cash)

2 thoughts on “An Intriguing Title

  1. Title matters otherwise we wont have (superstar, ullaga nayagan, thalapathi (thalavali makes more sense) and thala (mundam again would make more sense).

    My view is if you give more options (open code or hackable code) to the users, then a few good men (and women) tend to bring a lot of new things to the table.

    Kinnect from Microsoft is case in point. But for applications which I am using daily to do routine work then I prefer straight forward design (I don’t like simple as it just hides what the developer has done to make it simple for the user).

  2. But wouldn’t making the app simple for the user actually make it more usable for all users rather than just users with certain level of technical knowledge?

    What you say about open source apps is absolutely true. Especially in the mobile app market, small scale developers have produced much better and interesting apps than big houses.

Comments are closed.