Biriyani Is No Match For Vegetable Rice

Have you ever read Mark Twain’s stories? No? you should get on it. They are quite brilliant. I just finished two of his short stories and I have to say they are superb. They are funny and witty and has a nice old-timey-ness to them. The short stories book has put a good hook on me and I am going through the stories in a good pace, about a story per day. I am past 5 now and half-way through the 5th one. True to its title, the stories are very short, not more than 3 pages at most.

That is a good thing, since I am finding myself spending more time at work more and more everyday. And then of course the after work lethargy. There is something weird about my work. I sit at a desk all day in a climate controlled room surrounded by some of the most banal colored walls and cubicles typing away for a decent 8 hours and, yet, somehow every ounce of energy is sapped away from my body in that darned ergonomic chair that its as if I am running on fumes at 6. Almost always, I return home from work feeling like a guy who just spent his entire day watching paint dry and the only thing I want to do at that point is to just lie down and drift away. My only ray of hope in such evenings is the fact that soon I will delight myself with an hour of quality humor and wit from “The Daily Show” and “The Colbert Report”, two of the most trusted sources in fake news and real commentary. These two shows have single handedly saved me from the depths of boredom infinite times.

But now, they are on a hiatus for 2 weeks. Which means its just darkness everywhere. I tried substituting them with some other comedy shows, but honestly, that is like replacing Biriyani with vegetable rice. It just doesn’t work. To make matters worse, Mr.M has stopped commenting on my blog which has only deepened my sorrow to levels that cannot be measured. I trusted you, Mr.M. I trusted you with every press of an alphabet in my laptop keyboard. Not cool, bro. Not cool at all.

At least, Chennai Super Kings qualified for the IPL final. That’s a good thing.

15 down. 350 more to go. See you tomorrow.

(I am on a blog-a-day-for-a-year crusade. Keep me motivated with your comments. Or cash)

2 thoughts on “Biriyani Is No Match For Vegetable Rice

  1. Dude,
    I am not writing comment for 365 days, this is your marathon, we will push you along on some days. If you want me to write daily then send me a paycheck a dollar a day.

    PEACE OUT…

Comments are closed.